iAudiophile.net Forums

Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon Z2

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-19-2012, 12:11   #1
Gungr

Default [Tutorial] Root and Market Hack

Let me start by saying I am far from an expert in these matters. I got this to work through a good many hours of work and a ton of trial and error
I am running Vista64, as such, all the details will be using that frame, Win7 should be similar, no idea about XP.

The software I used:
SuperOneClick (Ver 2.2) - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682
Titanium Backup
Root Check Pro
File Expert
SuperUser - http://androidsu.com/superuser/

First you need to install and setup the correct USB driver.

In the Z2 Settings, go to Applications > Developement and make sure USB Debugging is turned on.

Download and install Java Platform (JDK) - http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...ads/index.html
Download and install the Android SDK - http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Follow this for the SDK setup - http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/How...c_Instructions

When it comes to adding to the path variables the ";C:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools;C:\android-sdk-windows\tools" part needs to be changed to point at the directory in which you installed the SDK.
You can get around this by shift-clicking an open spot in the \platform-tools\ folder and selecting "Open Command Window Here".

You will need to edit the android_winusb.inf file to add the Z2 to the list.
Under [Google.NTx86] and [Google.NTx64] add this entry to the top:
Code:
; Cowon Z2
%SingleAdbInterface%    = USB_Install, USB\VID_0E21&PID_1100
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0E21&PID_1100&MI_01
;
Go to C:\Documents and Settings\%USERPROFILE%\.android\adb_usb.ini
If there is no adb_usb.ini file present, create it yourself.

Open the ini file and edit it so it now looks like this:
Code:
# ANDROID 3RD PARTY USB VENDOR ID LIST -- DO  NOT EDIT.
# USE 'android update adb' TO GENERATE.