iAudiophile.net Forums

Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon J3

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-31-2012, 11:23   #1
ALEX@LIN
Digital Fan

Thumb Up Look at here! Lots of pictures about J3's disassembling(finished yet)

I’m very pleased to bring you a disassembling of COWON J3, which I posted it in 2011.07 in Chinese iMP3 BBS (http://bbs.imp3.net/thread-10395061-1-1.html You can read it by Google translation engine). Now I translate and post part of it here. I have to say first, since I’m not good at English, there maybe lots of mistakes in this thread, I hope you will point out them for me, then we can communicate each other better, thank you.

First, I’ll introduce the way of confirming the manufacturing date of COWON MP3, it will be use behind. Look at the SN in the back of your device, the first two characters, such as JK is J3(base), JD is J3(DMB), KS is C2(base), KB is C2(DMB) and so on, and you could confirm the manufacturing date by the first four numbers. For example, JK1006 is a J3(base) made in 2010.06. You can compare the manufacturing date and the purchase date to make sure if your device is an inventory.

In the beginning of disassembling, we have to get some “weapons”.

Open covers of the bolts by a needle and Loosen all the bolts.

Insert into the seam with your nails in the USB port side and slide down along the seam , you’ll separate the cover .

We can see a high capacity battery inside, which signed “Li-ion”, but I find the manual writed: COWON J3 has a built-in Lithium Polymer battery (Li-Polymer is better than Li-ion). Obviously, COWON lied to us, though 4.1Wh is big enough for a non-smart MP3.