iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Hard Disk Players > Cowon X7

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2011, 06:22   #1
vermanium
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Default Album Art in the Album Browser

Hi
I received my X7 two days back, and after installing Sense and Leaf, i am over the moon.

Being an old Cowon fan from my A2 days, apart from the brilliant sound, what i was missing was file management which these UCIs seem to have.
Thanks Kizune, i will be gifting you today for your wonderful work

I intend to use the X7 in my car. My question is about Album browsing.

Is there a way to have the browser sift through album arts rather than just names? My Nokia n900 has this, and i love selecting albums from the front covers.

If the feature exsists, please tell me how to enable it. If not, any chance we can have it in the future?

Thanks for help and cooperation.
Verm.


.

Last edited by vermanium; 07-23-2011 at 06:37..
vermanium is offline View vermanium's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Thanks from:

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 07-23-2011, 06:51   #2
zen-kizu
Formerly "Kizune"
 
zen-kizu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany, Baden-Württemberg
Posts: 5,983
Default

There is AFAIK no good UCI except for el maco's Flow Browser available which allows you to browse albums by album covers. However, it requires some extra work, but the result is worth it.

http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=37851

If you want to use it in connection with Sense and Leaf, you need v1.03P.
__________________
My setup: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 + Audio Technica ATH-M50 & Shure SE215

Profiles: Google+ // deviantART // flickr

Last edited by zen-kizu; 07-23-2011 at 07:20..
zen-kizu is offline View zen-kizu's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 07:14   #3
vermanium
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Great to hear from you kizune.
I will go straight and try it.
It looks very promising...exactly what i wanted.
Cheers.
vermanium is offline View vermanium's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:25   #4
chickenbellyfinn
S9/J3 Flash Developer
 
chickenbellyfinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 411
Default

"AFAIAK"

*runs back to urban dictionary*
__________________

Apps = [BrainFail] [Lava!] [Nyan Widget] [Cube Widget]
Tools = [Album Art Optimizer]

[ Cowon S9 | Titanium | 32GB ] + Audio Technica ATH-ANC7B
chickenbellyfinn is offline View chickenbellyfinn's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:28   #5
zen-kizu
Formerly "Kizune"
 
zen-kizu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany, Baden-Württemberg
Posts: 5,983
Default

Why don't you know such common abbreviations? xD

AFAIK = as far as I know
ASAP = as soon as possible
IMO = in my opinion
IMHO = in my humble opinion
w/ = with
w/o = without
n/a = not available
LOL = laughing out loud
RO(T)FL = rolling on the floor, laughing
LM(F)AO = laughing my (f*cking) ass off
xD = Smiley-fied LOL
UCI = user-created interface

Hope this helps.
__________________
My setup: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 + Audio Technica ATH-M50 & Shure SE215

Profiles: Google+ // deviantART // flickr

Last edited by zen-kizu; 07-23-2011 at 10:33..
zen-kizu is offline View zen-kizu's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:59   #6
vermanium
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Default

This looks fantastic, Kizune.

Can i ask you, what is the ideal resolution of each of the cover.jpg files?

Thanks mate.
vermanium is offline View vermanium's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 11:04   #7
zen-kizu
Formerly "Kizune"
 
zen-kizu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany, Baden-Württemberg
Posts: 5,983
Default

272x272 is the best resolution. Everything larger doesn't make sense because it's scaled down.
Only exception: When the album art is displayed as wallpaper. Then the best resolution is 480x480.
__________________
My setup: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 + Audio Technica ATH-M50 & Shure SE215

Profiles: Google+ // deviantART // flickr
zen-kizu is offline View zen-kizu's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 01:58   #8
vermanium
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for that info Kizune.

But i have a slight(?) problem with the Flow browser.

After saving all my 318 album arts in each folder with the 272x272 dimension and renaming them 'cover.jpg', i followed the instructions as el maco gave.

However, when i restart my X7, the Flow browser is showing me all of them with the same art...picture from the first folder, but name from the second. Duplicated 318 times.

I then read that, like j3, X7 has the system folder in the flash memory, but the music files in the HDD. He says it might not work for that reason.

Now, i shud be putting this to el maco, but considering how old the thread is and the fact that he has quit working on it, i thot i'll ask you.

From your experience and brilliant skills, do you think you can find me a way out so that i can use this amazing feature?

If not, it'll be fine. But thanks for trying

Danke Shun.
vermanium is offline View vermanium's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 06:13   #9
zen-kizu
Formerly "Kizune"
 
zen-kizu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany, Baden-Württemberg
Posts: 5,983
Default

Wait, the X7 has two memories? A flash memory and the HDD?
__________________
My setup: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 + Audio Technica ATH-M50 & Shure SE215

Profiles: Google+ // deviantART // flickr
zen-kizu is offline View zen-kizu's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 06:44   #10
el maco
Senior Member
 
el maco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kizune View Post
Wait, the X7 has two memories? A flash memory and the HDD?
That was news to me, too And also probably the reason why the browser can't find the album folders... The issue might be easy enough to fix (J3 support required a similar patch) but I'm really busy right now so... maybe later, if you guys really need it.
el maco is offline View el maco's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 07:11   #11
Mark Coyle
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 124
Default

Yes, the X7 when connected in Windows connects as two drives. The Flash drive (1GB) contains the system files and room for some files, the HDD drive contains the full storage (120GB / 160GB).

It means that in the event of hard disk corruption the device would still launch, to run the repair/format facility.

cheers
Mark
Mark Coyle is offline View Mark Coyle's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 07:21   #12
vermanium
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Hi there.

Thanks for your kind offer. I would really appreciate if you could spend a few minutes guiding me through this. Whenever you can.

It would've been ok if kizune hadn't told me about it.
But now that i see it on the X7, it is extremely impressive and enchanting and frustrating. So close, yet so far.

I can see how much it will enhance the user experience. Its worth it. So i will wait.

Cheers.
vermanium is offline View vermanium's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 14:18   #13
el maco
Senior Member
 
el maco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 479
Default

^ Please do not get your hopes up or anything but you could tell me this: If you enter the regular file browser (I'm assuming that X7 has one, right?) and go up in the directory structure (= parent folder) until you reach the root where you can't go up anymore, which folders do you see? I'm assuming you should see exactly two: one, which contains the Flash memory contents, and another for the HDD. If this is the case, what are the names of the said folders?
el maco is offline View el maco's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 14:35   #14
zen-kizu
Formerly "Kizune"
 
zen-kizu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany, Baden-Württemberg
Posts: 5,983
Default

The first level is as usual ([Folders], [Artists], [Albums],...).
But in [Folders], there are [X7 FLASH] and [X7 HDD].
__________________
My setup: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 + Audio Technica ATH-M50 & Shure SE215

Profiles: Google+ // deviantART // flickr
zen-kizu is offline View zen-kizu's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 15:06   #15
el maco
Senior Member
 
el maco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kizune View Post
The first level is as usual ([Folders], [Artists], [Albums],...).
But in [Folders], there are [X7 FLASH] and [X7 HDD].
Oh, right. With J3 the contents of the internal memory is in [Folders]/[J3] isn't it (what is the name of the SD card folder btw?)

Attached is an experimental build of Flow browser for X7. Replace the original resource2.uci* with this new file and run MakeBrowser. Its assumed that music files are located in [Folders]/[X7 HDD]/[Music]/... Let me know if this works any better. Also be warned that this might not support a huge music library (huge=several hundred albums). If you run into problems when launching the browser, try reducing the number of albums.

*might be compatible with plugin version (V1.03P) only... I have forgotten if the non-plugin version required different actionscript or something

Last edited by el maco; 05-12-2012 at 13:46..
el maco is offline View el maco's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:53.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact