iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon D2/D2+ > D2 Rockbox

Notices

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2011, 19:11   #286
vampire666
Got some blood to spare?
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 337
Default

Well the problem reoccurred...and it looks like it's random.
Some times I slide and hold the button and the Rockbox logo appears and then black screen with nothing else to do than switch the player.
Other times it loads without problems.

The SDHC 32GB is brand new, but just in case I tried with another one and the problem happens regardless.

EDIT: the card was formatted with the panasonic utility. The file system is FAT32.

EDIT2: updating rockbox to the latest version seams to have finally solved the problem.
__________________
Tutorial: First steps after buying a D2
Present: waiting for my D2 ordered on 08/12/2008/ Finally arrived on the 19/12/2008...and enjoying it since then... (+32GB SDHC)
Future: waiting for a 64GB S9 (not happening) or a possible D3 --> Not really impressed with D3 now that it's released


Last edited by vampire666; 08-12-2011 at 07:04..
vampire666 is offline View vampire666's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 08-23-2011, 11:11   #287
v0rtex99
Fr.ogg.y Lover
 
v0rtex99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 75
Default

Just got Rockbox up and running on my D2+ using michael1946 (r.30056) FW versions for dual boot. However, I would like to boot to Rockbox first if possible. Is there any way to have the latest Rockbox on the D2+ with 2.13 stock firmware and with Rockbox booting first? Thanks!
v0rtex99 is offline View v0rtex99's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 13:32   #288
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 329
Default

Here it is!
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 14:29   #289
Peaceful1
.....silence.....
 
Peaceful1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tehran(IRAN)
Posts: 1,044
Send a message via Yahoo to Peaceful1
Default

michael1946 can you please make a 3.1.3 for me too
__________________
peace is not a reason its a way of life

my ROCKBOX is --->clip+ed-clip ed-Fuze ed-D2+ed
Fiio E3-FiioE5-FiioE7
AKG 518DJ,AKG 340,MDR-Q68 Black,EP-630,Cowon CE1
Peaceful1 is offline View Peaceful1's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 17:20   #290
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peaceful1 View Post
michael1946 can you please make a 3.1.3 for me too
Have a look at http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showpo...01&postcount=9!
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Thanks from:
Old 08-31-2011, 12:11   #291
v0rtex99
Fr.ogg.y Lover
 
v0rtex99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 75
Default

I just wanted to give a shout out to everyone who has contributed to Rockbox on the D2/D2+. I now have a favorite player that will last me for years! At least I hope so! I just put a 128GB SDXC Card in my D2+ with Rockbox and it works great! Using an external card reader I formatted a Lexar 133x 128GB SDXC card to Fat32 on my Mac computer. Hooked it up to my PC, copied over 70GB of music and the Rockbox files and it works just great! I don't know if writing/formatting the card in the player would work and it would be a lot slower. Going to use the reader for all copying. Rockbox firmware can read all the files and play music just fine! Of course the Cowon music database does not work with over 4k songs, but I am a folder organizer anyways. About 136GB of usable space has made me a happy camper!

Last edited by v0rtex99; 08-31-2011 at 13:00..
v0rtex99 is offline View v0rtex99's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Thanks from:
Old 08-31-2011, 12:18   #292
vampire666
Got some blood to spare?
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 337
Default

Awesome v0rtex99!
So it looks like SDXC cards work fine on our beloved D2 as long as the filesystem is converted to Fat32.

Very nice!
It looks like I will never replace my D2 (well...it will break one day I'm sure).

EDIT: well...I forgot about D2's file limititation...that screws things a little bit.
__________________
Tutorial: First steps after buying a D2
Present: waiting for my D2 ordered on 08/12/2008/ Finally arrived on the 19/12/2008...and enjoying it since then... (+32GB SDHC)
Future: waiting for a 64GB S9 (not happening) or a possible D3 --> Not really impressed with D3 now that it's released

vampire666 is offline View vampire666's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 12:32   #293
v0rtex99
Fr.ogg.y Lover
 
v0rtex99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 75
Default

The file limitation is only a limitation if you use the stock firmware database. I never did, so it is not a loss to me. Rockbox has both a folder browser and a database so there is really no loss at all. In fact the recent Rockbox versions seem to work perfectly on my D2+ and I have no reason to use the stock firmware at all. You can brows music much better and I like the now playing screen much better.

I should mention that it was super easy to format the card with OS X. Although I assume you need a later version that can recognize exFAT file system. I just put the card in a normal SDHC USB reader, opened up Disk Utility and formatted it using "MS-DOS (FAT)" and it worked perfectly. I had read some other peoples posts on other forums about problems with MBR etc., but none of that was a problem.
v0rtex99 is offline View v0rtex99's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 12:37   #294
vampire666
Got some blood to spare?
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 337
Default

You are right v0rtex99, there's no limit in file browsing using Rockbox, but only on the official firmware (no matter the method, both file browsing and database are effected by this limitation).
__________________
Tutorial: First steps after buying a D2
Present: waiting for my D2 ordered on 08/12/2008/ Finally arrived on the 19/12/2008...and enjoying it since then... (+32GB SDHC)
Future: waiting for a 64GB S9 (not happening) or a possible D3 --> Not really impressed with D3 now that it's released

vampire666 is offline View vampire666's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 09:51   #295
TheBigBean
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 23
Default

If any of the skilled people here have a spare moment, I would very much like a patched bootloaded for FW 4.02 which boots Cowon firmware as the default and Rockbox with the hold button pressed. I need it to be 4.02 and not a later version.

Many thanks if anyone can help.

Last edited by TheBigBean; 03-02-2012 at 09:54..
TheBigBean is offline View TheBigBean's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 09:11   #296
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 329
Default

Have a look at http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showpo...88&postcount=1!
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 11:13   #297
TheBigBean
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Thanks, but, despite the description on the website, the firmware loads Rockbox first and Cowon if you hold the slider. I'm looking for the opposite.
TheBigBean is offline View TheBigBean's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 13:00   #298
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 329
Default

Then try to build your own bootloader patched version 4.02 with the bootloader of RB version 30056 which can be downloaded here.
For learning how to build such a patched version have a look at http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showpo...8&postcount=11!
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 16:26   #299
TheBigBean
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Thanks for the help. I did look at the instructions about compiling before my first post, but I didn't understand several of the steps, and google was of no help in translating them. Hence the reason for my initial post.
TheBigBean is offline View TheBigBean's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 17:30   #300
mackieken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Default

http://www.d2rockbox.co.uk no longer works, is there another website that is similar to this?
mackieken is offline View mackieken's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bootloader, guide, install, rockbox, tutorial

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:18.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact