iAudiophile.net Forums

Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Hard Disk Players > Cowon A3

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-16-2008, 05:14   #1
sir_tonyx

Smile Archos 605 WIFI vs A2/A3 (from a longtime A2 user)

I've been using a Cowon A2 20GB PMP for two years now and although I love it, the 20GB capacity is getting kind of small. in anticipation of a summer vacation I thought I'd buy a more roomy alternative and the current top choices for this seem to be the Cowon A3 (with up to 80 GB) and Archos 605 WIFI (with up to 160 GB capacities). looking at the specs of Cowon A3, it seemed like it was a carbon copy of the A2, except for the higher resolution screen and bigger capacity. but looking at the Archos 605 - touch screen, WIFI, internet browser, fancy user interface. I thought I'd opt for a bit more variety than just more resolutions, so I went and bought the Archos 605 WIFI 160 GB. here are my thoughts on the device, especially compared to my trusty Cowon A2. since the Cowon A3 pretty much identical to the A2 (except for the resolution and capacity), you can treat this as a comparison to A3 as well.

autonomy and battery power

the Archos 605 lasted for 4 hours 20 minutes playing a video on a loop. adding the battery pack and doing the test again gave result of 7 hours and 40 minutes (but note the impracticality of the battery pack in another section).

Cowon A2: I've been using the Cowon A2 for two years now and I guess it started at somewhere at around 7 hours. anyway, Cowon is known for its fantastic battery autonomy. after two years of use, it clocked in at 4 hours 50 minutes against the Archos looping the same video.

recharging and battery pack