![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
|
I just purchased a pair of Sennheiser CX-300 on eBay and have read a few storys online of some being fake. In another thread I read someone got some from ebay and he knew they were fake based on that there was no packaging, and the plug was gold and straight instead of sliver and 90 degree. Here is what I purchased:
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Sennheiser-C...QQcmdZViewItem In the auction it says: "Sennheiser CX 300 Ear-Canal Headphones come in a sealed pack with 3 different sized ear adapters in soft, silicone rubber . Because of the nature of the product there are NO RETURNS!!! Please ask questions before bidding and know your product." The part that scares me a bit is that there are no returns and it comes in a "sealed pack" and I don't know if this meens a sealed package like you would find in a store or a sealed bag, like the ripoff headphones come in. Has anybody purchased from this seller before and any thoughts on if they're real or not? Also, if they are fake, how can I tell besides the different types of plug, in the picture the plug looks authentic. Thanks for all your help guys! Last edited by iyzmi; 10-14-2006 at 21:49. |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Hater of Epithets
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,063
|
This defintely looks fishy. For one, the headphones look used. Second, they're not in the Sennheiser packaging in the pics. Maybe he has a second pair?
I was the one who bought the fake ones. In the pics on eBay, he put up pictures of them with the 90-degree non-gold plug, but I recieved a straight, gold plug in a plastic pouch. If you get the pouch, then its fake. If you get soem plastic packaging attached to cardboard, then it's real. There's no such thing as do not return. Ebay has buyer protection as well as paypal. Look for something like "item not as described". Only do this if you do in fact recieve fakes, which I think you will with this reputation and odd description. If you paid with paypapl, then you have an even better chance of getting your money back. Good luck. BTW, I recieved a full refund (including shpping and shipping insurance) from the guy who sent me a fake. Watch out for phishing e-mails if you ever contact them. Be careful and good luck.
__________________
When you put somebody on the ignore list, do it for real. Don't bother responding, because I won't be able to hear you. |
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
|
On another forum somobody said his friend got some in the plastic on cardboard packaging and they were still fake so you never know. The only dead give away for a non-audiophile like me would be the plug, I hope if they're fake it will be pretty clear. Also, I did pay with paypal.
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Hater of Epithets
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,063
|
The one I recieved had bad sound quality. I'm no audiophile myself, but this thing was horrible. The voices in songs are distorted and it kind of sounds like the ocean. Also, the silicone tips made a popping sound when they were in your ear and moved back and forth as you put them in your ear. Authentic Sennheiser buds didn't do this.
__________________
When you put somebody on the ignore list, do it for real. Don't bother responding, because I won't be able to hear you. |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
|
Thanks, I'll keep that in mind. I'm still praying on the off chance that they are authentic but if they're not, I really hope this guy dosn't stick to trying to convince me they're authentic and not giving me my money back...
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
|
While I'm waiting for these to come in, what is the best price available currently for authentic ones. I see that on amazon.com the black ones are about $5 cheaper than silver...why is that? The black ones are $47 with free shipping, does any site have better than that?
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
multimedia aficionado
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,158
|
Not sure why, stock availablity maybe. Yeah, with that price tag I doubt you're getting something authentic. What are the sayings, if it's too good to be true... you get what you ...
There are a couple of ways to check current prices for online stores like www.pricegrabber.com or www.nextag.com. I know nextag will also give you a graph of price history.
__________________
Ray, when someone asks if you're a god, you say "Yes!" Should afruff decide to contradict or address me, and you would like a response, please let me know; he is on my ignore list. Quality AND Quantity. |
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Hater of Epithets
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,063
|
That's weird. Usually the silver is cheaper. If you have good timing, you canget the CX300 silver for $40 with free super saver shipping from amazon.com The price flcutuates very frequently so check up on it a lot.
__________________
When you put somebody on the ignore list, do it for real. Don't bother responding, because I won't be able to hear you. |
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
|
Today I checked amazon and the silver ones went down to $48, I guess the price does fluctuate a lot. I think If i do buy them retail, I'll just use Newegg, $55 total and 3 day shipping which is about the total I'd get with amazon but with ground shipping.
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
|
Hmmm...the seller seems to be getting good feedback on these headphones, maybe they are real. Either that or all these people are just stupid and didn't know what to expect from authentic CX-300s.
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Hater of Epithets
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,063
|
Don't go by that. The seller I bought my phones from had 100% feedback (or soemthing like 99.something). They obviously can't tell the difference.
__________________
When you put somebody on the ignore list, do it for real. Don't bother responding, because I won't be able to hear you. |
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
|
I recieved the headphones today, they came in a pouch. They sound pretty good in my very novice opinion. I do notice when I push on them when they are in my ears the silcon tips make a popping noise. The jack is a silver 90 degree style one.The bass is pretty impressive in my opinion but again, I have nothing to compare them to. When I only have one earphone in my ears, they sound pretty bad individually, but when are both are in the sound seems pretty good. Here are some pics I took:
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() I wrote this to send the seller, tell me if you guys think it's is ok. I have recieved the "Sennheiser CX-300" headphones that you sent me today and I am very disapointed in the quality. These are NOT authentic CX-300's as promised. Some of the ways I can clearly tell this are: 1. I own a pair of real CX-300s and there is a slight difference on the Sennheiser emblem on each earphone on the one's you have sent me from real ones. 2. The sound quality is NOTHING like my authentic Sennheisers. 3. There was no original plastic on cardboard style packaging included like with real ones. The kind that come in a plastic bag like these are not real. 4. The silicone tips make a popping noise while moving back in forth in my ears which does not happen on authentic ones. 5. The metal grille is slightly different from the genuine ones. I have more observations on why I know these are not genuine Sennheiser CX-300s. I am requesting a full refund including my shipping price or I will file fraud charges to eBay and get my money back through PayPal. The item you have sent me is not as promised and eBay takes fraud charges like this very seriously. If you would like, I can send these headphones back to you (at your expence). If I recieve a refund I will not file any charges and positive feedback will be exchanged. I don't want to get eBay involved with this or make this into a long proccess so your cooperation is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and I hope we reach an agreement. |
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK/Singapore
Posts: 310
|
You said yourself at the beginning of the post that you thought they sounded good, so why are you sending that email to the seller? Also if these are fakes i think you should deffintely tell ebay about it. Also the reason you cant return them is for health reasons (its the same on all websites).
I own a pair of cx300's and judging by your pics they look real. But you can only really tell by the sound quality
__________________
Proud owner of an cowon A2 + U3 + D2
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 26
|
Again, they sound good in my VERY novice opinion, and I think they are fake because everybody has told me that the ones that comes in plastic bags are fake. I don't want to pay $30 for fake headphones when I can pay $30 for real ones that sound better.
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
multimedia aficionado
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,158
|
Do you, or don't you actually have a pair of real CX300s? I would avoid writing anything false in the claim.
__________________
Ray, when someone asks if you're a god, you say "Yes!" Should afruff decide to contradict or address me, and you would like a response, please let me know; he is on my ignore list. Quality AND Quantity. |
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|