iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon J3 > J3 Troubles & Problems

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 11:21   #1
mandude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Default Alarm Bricking People's J3s

I am noticing a trend, after researching it as it happened to me.
I have had my J3 for.. not even sure I think I got it when it first came out (what is that 2 years or 1.5 not sure). I never really had a problem with it. 2 nights ago for the 1st time I set the alarm. The alarm went off in the morning, I turned it off. That was the last time it would ever be turned off or on. It wont power up. It wont charge. It wont be recognized in the PC.

I am clearly past the warranty. I DO NOT want to loose all my music! I have 20gbs worth of music on there and no where else (cuz my external drive crashed.. all my shit seems to fail lately). So what can I do? I have not found a solution just the same problem with a lot of people saying after they use the alarm it happens. But sometimes they would send them in and they get them working. How?

Anyone have a solution yet? I don't understand how it can just never turn on again.
mandude is offline View mandude's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 03-27-2012, 11:33   #2
mandude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Default

If Im supposed to try tcctool, the part I dont understand is
-Open CMD and input cd C:\tcctool then tcctool -d cowons9 COWON_J3_FW.BIN then press ENTER

if my PC doesnt recognize it how do I know how to get the file to the j3.
mandude is offline View mandude's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 11:37   #3
zen-kizu
Formerly "Kizune"
 
zen-kizu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany, Baden-Württemberg
Posts: 5,983
Default

Have you already tried to use the reset hole?
__________________
My setup: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 + Audio Technica ATH-M50 & Shure SE215

Profiles: Google+ // deviantART // flickr
zen-kizu is offline View zen-kizu's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 11:47   #4
Rodster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kizune View Post
Have you already tried to use the reset hole?
What Kizu said. I had my J3 lockup on me. I thought oh boy looks like it's bricked. All it took was to reset it via the hole in the back. It was fine after the reset.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enzyme View Post
cant really offer any advice here, just wanted to ask what firmware you and the others were running?
V2.26

Last edited by Rodster; 03-27-2012 at 11:52..
Rodster is offline View Rodster's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 11:51   #5
Enzyme
(A)rrogance (B)reeds (I)gnorance
 
Enzyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 979
Default

cant really offer any advice here, just wanted to ask what firmware you and the others were running?
Enzyme is offline View Enzyme's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:45   #6
mandude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Default

yep Ive used the reset button before so that was my first guess. did that, pressed it while plugging in, every combo imaginable. Nothing. firmware 2.23 and I have a 32gb. I wish I ran into this problem like, when I first got it I could have sent it in then, not find this out years later!
mandude is offline View mandude's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 14:01   #7
Enzyme
(A)rrogance (B)reeds (I)gnorance
 
Enzyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 979
Default

you could try holding the reset in for a lil while, like 10 seconds, if no luck repeat that while pressing the play button on and off.

that got me out of a few nasty lockups with 2.23.
(no idea why the play button did anything but it worked on a couple of occasions (could just be coincidence).

the other option, (im guessing its still active\powered up just stuck in some non standard state)
is to let the battery drain totally so it cant even get stuck in the lockup state, although how long that'll take i cannot say.
then try the pc again and see if you cant update the firmware.
Enzyme is offline View Enzyme's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 15:24   #8
andrew_berge
Audio Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 322
Default

Weird. I've been using the alarm for a while now and have never had any problems.
__________________
DAP: Cowon J3 (32GB + 32GB MicroSD) & SanDisk Sansa Clip+ (8GB)
Headphones: Shure SRH840, Panasonic RP-HTX7 & Panasonic RP-HT722 (PCB Removed)
Earbuds/IEMs: Shure SE215 & Monoprice 9927


CD Ripper | Tagger -| - - - Album Art - -- | -- Player--
andrew_berge is offline View andrew_berge's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 16:24   #9
Enzyme
(A)rrogance (B)reeds (I)gnorance
 
Enzyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 979
Default

i had no end of troubles with the alarm on .23
it either didnt work, rebooted the player, or changed the time to something random, usually a mix of the last two.

i had it marked as a useless feature until the firmware update.
__________________
"Space Travels in my blood, there ain't nothing I can do about it" - The Only Ones


Enzyme is offline View Enzyme's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 00:02   #10
mandude
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Default

UPDATE!
Very strange. I went to do this tcc tool thing. I figured WHAT THE HECK, let me try one more time. I tried turning on the unit, no luck. I then plugged it into a power outlet. The screen flashed white really bright for less then a second. Then it started charging!!!!

This is about a month later. So I guess the battery drained. I dunno what to think, but I dont care I am just glad it is working again.. I have missed my music so much!

You can bet your sweet butt I am backing up my entire mp3 as we speak!

Hope this info helps anyone that may have had this happen. Let it sit for a month (painstaking, I know).
mandude is offline View mandude's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact