iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon D3

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2012, 13:34   #16
NonApplicable
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulr View Post
assuming the D3 uses a normal JST connector (not shown in the picture so I can't tell).
If I remember correctly, it does.
NonApplicable is offline View NonApplicable's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 03-21-2012, 13:12   #17
griesmonkey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulr View Post
The measurements are in the part number, PR-645553N. That means 64mm long, 55mm wide, and 5.3mm deep. There are some cellular phone batteries that should fit in that space, maybe with a little bit less capacity. Some people have successfully installed the Nokia BP-4L battery (about 1500 mah) in the D2, for example. It's even possible that the Cameron Sino battery sold for the D2 (about $10 on ebay) would fit in the D3. It already has the right connector assuming the D3 uses a normal JST connector (not shown in the picture so I can't tell).

Added: you should not need a micrometer (a very precise instrument that gauges thickness by counting the turns of a fine-pitched screw) for measuring a battery. An ordinary cheap caliper is fine. A ruler won't really let you measure the thickness accurately enough though.

Caliper is what I meant. Sorry.
griesmonkey is offline View griesmonkey's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 11:09   #18
Elgan
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 87
Default

Do you think it would be possible to squeeze anything bigger than 5.3 mm thick? has anyone opened the D3 as of late?

i know of several batteries for model aeroplanes which are near that size...but hitting more 7,8mm, but have much better specs


edit: how about 2nd from bottom?
http://www.jauch-batteries.com/lithi...ymer-baps/?L=1

but of course connector would need to be added

Last edited by Elgan; 03-22-2012 at 11:12..
Elgan is offline View Elgan's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 11:29   #19
paulr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

If anything, 5.5mm is already too thick. And you should not try to squeeze in the thickest battery you can. The batteries tend to swell when they go bad, so you are supposed to leave some space inside the device to allow for that. If you really want extended runtime your best bet is an external battery.
paulr is offline View paulr's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 11:25   #20
miykael
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Default

I am glad to say that my battery issue is resolved. :-) Cowon America replaced my suffering D3 with a new or refurbished one at no cost to me. Now I have to consider what to do with it since I have purchased a Sony Walkman Z to replace it. Thanks for all of your responses.
miykael is offline View miykael's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:23   #21
doomlordis
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Default

Nice one Cowon!
doomlordis is offline View doomlordis's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:27   #22
Enzyme
(A)rrogance (B)reeds (I)gnorance
 
Enzyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Now I have to consider what to do with it since I have purchased a Sony Walkman Z to replace it.

is it wise to ask such a question while mentioning sony here
Enzyme is offline View Enzyme's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 20:49   #23
missk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Saskatoon, Sask.
Posts: 12
Default

I need to replace my battery so I was going to just pop in a D2 battery... but since opening my D3 I see that the battery size listed in this thread is a bit off. The battery itself and the space it fits into is more like ~55mm by ~55mm, very square, and the D2 battery probably won't fit since it's something like ~65mm long. I haven't been able to find a replacement so I'm going to have to send it off to Cowon for a new battery, which they say costs 57$, plus whatever it costs to ship it there since it's out of warranty. Oh well!
missk is offline View missk's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2014, 02:07   #24
MFrost
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default

helllo when could i buy battery for cowon d3?
MFrost is offline View MFrost's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:17.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact