iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon D2/D2+ > D2 Troubles & Problems

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2012, 09:03   #1
D-Money
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 30
Default D2 shuts down, white screen of death

Listening to my D2 (v2.57) while walking to work today it suddenly shut itself off mid-song. Hitting the power switch to turn it back on would show the normal Cowon start-up screen and firmware number, but then it would go to a white screen (instead of the usual blue) with no text, but some of the usual UI was there. Connecting to a PC would show similar results.

When "exploring" the D2 from Windows shows the usual directory structure, but all of the folders are empty (all files and subfolders are gone). The 16gb D2 was reporting 8GB free with 6.5mb used (had around 14gb of mp3 and videos)?!?

The reset button didn't really do anything to help.

After upgrading the firmware to v2.59 everything seems to be working again.

Any ideas as to why it crashed in the first place?
D-Money is offline View D-Money's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 02-23-2012, 09:42   #2
WAI
VIP Member
 
WAI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United States, Alabama
Posts: 4,888
Send a message via MSN to WAI Send a message via Yahoo to WAI
Default

idk what happened but at least the issue is resolved. never read this issue before
__________________
My Thread
D2 Theme/Flash Skin Packs, FAQ, and Tools
S9 UCI's, FAQ, and Tools
+ READ the Disclaimer Notice.Thanks!
Link to All COWON Products includes: Firmware/Manuals/logos (Unable to access them without Login)
FOLLOW ME!

Youtube
UStream Twitter
WAI is offline View WAI's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 09:54   #3
D-Money
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 30
Default

This was actually the first "issue" I have EVER had with my D2. It's been running great for years!

At first, I figured I just ran the battery down, since I hardly ever need to charge it. I turned it back on to see if the battery icon was flashing, but I got the white screen instead.

Darn! Why didn't I take pics of the screen with my phone camera? Oh well, too late now, heh.
D-Money is offline View D-Money's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 09:01   #4
D-Money
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 30
Default

Well crud! Just when I thought the problem was solved, the D2 crashed again on my way home from work, and went right back to the white screen. It also erased itself again and reset the date/time/country..

The white screen of death:


update:
So, this morning I went back and reinstalled v2.59, and copied my mp3s back onto it. It was working great. 3 hours later, I turned it on to check to see that it still worked...and it was right back to the white screen, old date/time, and empty folders. I can't wait for my J3 to show up tomorrow.

Last edited by D-Money; 02-28-2012 at 11:54.. Reason: Added pictures
D-Money is offline View D-Money's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:11   #5
D-Money
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 30
Default

Well, it looks like 8GB of storage space is just plain GONE. Now that it's stuck as an 8GB D2, it seems to actually work again. I think writing data into the "bad" 8GB portion was what kept causing the D2 to dump EVERYTHING and reset itself.

It kind of reminds me of the "horror stories" people tell about trying to write data onto "counterfeit" 16/32GB SD cards.
D-Money is offline View D-Money's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 08:45   #6
D-Money
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 30
Default

Well, my gimpy D2 has crashed again this morning, back to the white screen of death. I assumed that another memory chip died.

When I plugged it into my PC, it was reporting its original 16GB capacity, rather than the 8GB it has been stuck on for weeks.

So, a quick bios flash returned it to working order. So we'll see how long it'll go before it dies again, heh.

Fortunately, I've managed to find a good case for my J3, so I don't know if I'll be using my D2 much any more.
D-Money is offline View D-Money's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 15:29   #7
WAI
VIP Member
 
WAI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United States, Alabama
Posts: 4,888
Send a message via MSN to WAI Send a message via Yahoo to WAI
Default

if your last process completely worked then that's great. if you have more problems i would use TCCTOOL and use the File that's in Folder 0 which is the Format Partition File which Formats the Memory and thus' clears all settings and Data off the D2 and i think it or atleast should fix any issue prior to the D2's last known issues to which the user had
__________________
My Thread
D2 Theme/Flash Skin Packs, FAQ, and Tools
S9 UCI's, FAQ, and Tools
+ READ the Disclaimer Notice.Thanks!
Link to All COWON Products includes: Firmware/Manuals/logos (Unable to access them without Login)
FOLLOW ME!

Youtube
UStream Twitter
WAI is offline View WAI's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 16:24   #8
D-Money
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 30
Default

I already tried the TCCTOOL method. That was back when it was only reporting 8GB of storage. TCCTOOL only saw 8, the D2 only saw 8, Windows only saw 8 (while the Disk Manager showed an unspecified amount of unpartitioned space). Now it's suddenly back to 16.

I think it's time to throw in the towel, heh.

Any time I had to re-flash, I'd always use 0, then 1, then 2.
D-Money is offline View D-Money's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 16:26   #9
WAI
VIP Member
 
WAI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United States, Alabama
Posts: 4,888
Send a message via MSN to WAI Send a message via Yahoo to WAI
Default

you tried the Panasonic Format Tool?

https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/for...3/eula_windows
__________________
My Thread
D2 Theme/Flash Skin Packs, FAQ, and Tools
S9 UCI's, FAQ, and Tools
+ READ the Disclaimer Notice.Thanks!
Link to All COWON Products includes: Firmware/Manuals/logos (Unable to access them without Login)
FOLLOW ME!

Youtube
UStream Twitter

Last edited by WAI; 03-27-2012 at 16:31..
WAI is offline View WAI's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 17:12   #10
D-Money
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 30
Default

Yep, tried that one too. At the time it also only saw 8GB, and it wouldn't let me disable the "removeable media" flag, since I was going to try to grab that unpartitioned space that the Windows Disk Manager saw (I assumed it was the missing 8GB).
D-Money is offline View D-Money's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 17:21   #11
WAI
VIP Member
 
WAI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United States, Alabama
Posts: 4,888
Send a message via MSN to WAI Send a message via Yahoo to WAI
Default

most liking it was. hmm odd issue. how long have you had the D2?
__________________
My Thread
D2 Theme/Flash Skin Packs, FAQ, and Tools
S9 UCI's, FAQ, and Tools
+ READ the Disclaimer Notice.Thanks!
Link to All COWON Products includes: Firmware/Manuals/logos (Unable to access them without Login)
FOLLOW ME!

Youtube
UStream Twitter
WAI is offline View WAI's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 18:55   #12
D-Money
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 30
Default

I've had it since Feb of 2009. Glad Amazon has an order history page.
D-Money is offline View D-Money's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:32.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact